RSS Feed

J’habille ma poupee avec Singer*

Just a quick post today to show you all the wonderful, amazing and gorgeous birthday gift I received earlier this year from Dajarra. My birthday occurred while we were travelling overseas and because you pretty much can’t beat spending a birthday in France, I didn’t expect a present (except maybe a glass or two of champagne…) at all. So I was very surprised when Dajarra ran to me, extremely excited, while we were perusing the goods at a flea market in Cannes claiming that he’d found my birthday gift.  I present…

Singer toy sewing machine

This box, ladies and gentlemen, holds one of the famous Singer Model 20 toy sewing machines. I’m sure you’ve all seen and heard about these, but I’m so excited to own a very nice 1950s French model.

In its natural habitat

Singer began producing these in around 1910 and continued into the 1970s, with a few updates and modifications along the way. I’ve not been able to discover the exact date of mine but have narrowed it down to the 1950s. Click here if you’d like to read more about these beautiful little machines.

French instructions…if it doesn’t involve ordering a meal, I won’t be able to read it!

My machine, and box, came with all the original instructions and other bits and pieces – except for a sewing pattern for doll clothing, apparently. Currently scanning eBay to get my hands on one!

Gratuitous glamour shot

*Translation: J’habille ma poupee avec Singer = I dress my doll with Singer

3 responses »

  1. Gaawd I’m so jealous, these things are so pretty! I love sewing too! :-)

    Reply
    • I know – they’re gorgeous! I’m going to have to exercise some self control so I don’t become completely obsessed and fill my house with more. Though, maybe just one more to keep this one company would be okay…I wouldn’t want it to be lonely :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

