RSS Feed

Spring fling

Though there are a couple of weeks left to winter the weather here in Melbourne has turned and it really feels like spring has sprung.  The lovely sunshine and warmer weather has got me thinking about my spring wardrobe and I’ve decided than rather just to go with my usual ‘fly by the seat of my pants’ sewing regime, I would try to work to a plan.  To this end I went through my pattern stash and picked out some patterns that I thought would be right for spring, then rummaged through my fabric stash and tried to match up the patterns and the fabric.  This is what I came up with:

Colette 'Crepe'

I originally bought this pattern to participate in Gertie’s Sew-along, but time got the best of me, and I never got around to it.  The time, I think, has finally arrived.  An easy to wear wrap dress is always welcome when the weather is fine, and you don’t want to waste any time dressing when you could be in the sunshine!  The fabric is a navy blue cotton with a lovely, large hibiscus print.  I bought the fabric from an Hawaiian online store – so many awesome prints…I could spend a fortune here.

Simplicity 3941

This made the list as a) I need to get over my thing about making shirts, b) I’ve had this fabric in my stash for a while (and even bought the matching red stripe), and c) it’s a pretty awesome pattern as far as shirts go.  I think I’ll make the short sleeved view 2.

Simplicity 6340

When I first pulled this pattern out for inclusion it was for the simple skirt.  However, when I paired it with this lovely piece of fabric I started to consider making the top instead (view 1, with the great bow detail).  This is mainly due to the fact that the fabric is actually a lot more pale in colour than this photo shows, and I’m afraid that it will lose its loveliness next to the pasty white of my legs.  The more I think about it the more I think the top is a better idea…

Simplicity 4438

I bought this fabric in India, and it’s lovely, and soft and rather sheer, so it will need lining.  The print is also, to me, crying out for a 1940s style pattern.  This pattern is actually from 1952, but the gathering detail on the shoulders and the simple skirt invoke the classic 40s style, so I think this will be perfect.

McCall's 5784

My favourite pattern with my favourite fabric!  Enough said.

Simplicity 4697

Another fabric purchase from India, and the only fabric in this current collection that doesn’t involve hues of blue…This piece is cotton and lovely and airy, so it’ll be a great dress to wear to work on warm days.  I’m really hoping to make the most of the red border print of the fabric, and at this point have thoughts of incorporating it into the tie around the neck.  My best laid plans however, have a tendency not to work out, so keep your fingers crossed for me!

What do you think of my pattern and fabric choices?  With the change of season upon us, are you starting to think about your next sewing cycle, or are you more organised than me and have already started getting ready for the warmer/cooler weather?

 

Leave a Reply

